Don’t you get lonely?

I have been asked this question so many times and every time I say ‘no I do not get lonely’ living alone in the country. I do often contemplate how I feel about living alone, its pros and cons – but that only addresses the ‘survival’ part of living life – yes things can be easier with someone else to share the load but it can also be emotionally draining and stressful if communication is poor and has a tendency to break down into a blame game. When this happens we get nowhere fast and living starts to take a nose dive into the ego based vortex of doom and no return. I do have a community and people I spend time with. This to me is the perfect balance where respect and appreciation is always present.

In many ways when someone asks me this question it tells me more about the person asking than anything else. People so often project their own fears onto others and then expect you to explain yourself to them, knowing full well any answer you provide will never plug their self inflicted wound that leaks fear every minute of the day. I once described to a close friend that I feel so much more ‘at home’ and surrounded by a ‘family’ of sorts, of native animals and wildlife here on my 5 acres, than I have ever experienced living in the city.

Today I read this quote posted by a blog I follow. It made me think that in a way I no longer feel the need to have to explain or succinctly communicate the things that are important to me to anyone else. BEing honest to oneself and living and knowing your own truth wipes away so much fear and especially the greatest debilitation afflicting so many – the fear of what others may think of you.

Find your truth and be honest with yourself – then you will be truly happy.

“Loneliness does not come from having no people around you, but from being unable to communicate the things that seem important to you” Carl Jung

Leek Flower

Leek Flower

5 responses to “Don’t you get lonely?

  1. They have no idea how fortunate YOU are. It has been a dream of mine to move back to the country and farm on a small scale. The more rural, the better!

    • you are very welcome – I just listened to your interview with Sam – great stuff. Thank you for such great audio presentation – love the soft music behind it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

