Bamboo trailer for bicycle, goat or slave.

Due to more pressing projects its taken a while for me to add the finishing touches to this one, but now my Bamboo Trailer is complete and functioning.

I took inspiration from a design I saw on a site called Carry Freedom, last year – click here for instructions.

I wanted a trailer that was light, strong and fairly cheap to make. A neighbour has a wild patch of running Bamboo so was too happy to allow me to cull some lengths for my project. I also had in mind moving stuff around my 5 acres and the future possibility of hitching a cart/trailer to some goats. All these factors influenced my final design.

Thus I built my trailer with two long lengths to be hand held or mounted to a goat harness yet can still be hitched to a bicycle when need.

A note on Bamboo – let it dry out before you start building. I left mine for 3 weeks, but I think it takes at least 2 months to dry. As Bamboo drys it shrinks slightly.

The ultimate size of the trailer is up to you. The width of this unit is 1m.

Materials used here are;

Bamboo up to 25mm diameter, discarded bicycle inner tubes x 2, second hand 26″ bicycle rims and tyres, new spokes and wheelchair hubs, steel axle parts, U brackets x 4, Braided wire, wire clamps, cable tensioners x 2, stainless steel nuts and bolts x 6, conventional bicycle trailer hitch modified with the bend section of an old set of handlebars.

These wheelchair hubs are great as they release with a push of a button. I handbuilt the wheels with stainless steel spokes. The final piece I needed was a cross axle made from 25mm square steel that connected the two wheel mounting plates – adding rigidity.  I will have to update this post later with the final weight, but I am guessing near 5kgs.

Bamboo lengths
Bamboo lengths
Rubber tube padding
Rubber tube padding
Joined with Stainless steel bolts
Joined with Stainless steel bolts

 

wheel mounting plates
wheel mounting plates
plates mounted with U brackets
plates mounted with U brackets
Hub axle shaft mounted
Hub axle shaft mounted

 

wheel chair hub with button release axle
wheel chair hub with button release axle
Wheel mounted
Wheel mounted
structural tensioners
structural tensioners

 

wire clamp
wire clamp
main frame complete
main frame complete
Bicycle Hitch
Bicycle Hitch

 

Hub HP650
Hub HP650
Kindling Collector
Kindling Collector
Where's that Goat?
Where’s that Goat?
Leave a Reply

