Sea Eagle encounter

Yesterday I set off on my daily beach walk with Fin north to Austinmer via the rock shelf at Thirroul. As I rounded the first cliff my eye caught the most spectacular site – a majestic White Bellied Sea Eagle resting on a large rock on the sand only 25m ahead of me.

It sat tall and proud standing almost 90cm tall, over half my own height, so seeing this massive white bird sitting still before me was breathtaking and a bit spooky. The eagle was quick to notice us and took flight swiftly gaining altitude on the strong southerly. Its wing span is twice its height at 1.8m and is an ominous sight as it hovers holding its position in the oncoming wind.

I have often seen this bird soring high above the coastline scanning the vegetation for prey. This is the first time I have ever seen it perched on a rock so close. A fortunate and special moment.

Leave a Reply

