Transporting stuff

Staying on my 5 acres for now means camping. I am yet to erect a shed to store my equipment – so for now when I work I am walking up and down the property dragging my gear in a big reinforced garden refuse bag.

What would really help is a cart or trailer – maybe both combined. A bicycle trailer almost fits the ticket but many are too flimsy and most produced in China from rubbish steel. I’ve been scanning the web for ideas and today I found it! BAMBOO!! So very Permaculture! Simple to construct and easy to repair. Here is a great design – my addition would be two higher side bars/handles for pulling heavier loads over the property.

Wide and stable with nice big diameter wheels to roll over rough ground.

here are some great links to other trailer designs

http://bikecart.pedalpeople.com/gallery.html

http://www.carryfreedom.com/bamboo.html

Leave a Reply

